About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Riley Wallace Award

April 4, 2017
PHOENIX, AZ -- UC Davis’ Chima Moneke is the recipient of the 2017 Riley Wallace award.
A 6-6 junior from Canberra, Australia averaged 14.6 points and 9.5 rebounds this season in his first year in uniform at UC-Davis. 
Moneke knocked down 53 percent of his shots and reached double figures in 25 of the Aggies’ 34 games. He poured in a season-high 26 points in a 76-70 win over Hawaii on Jan. 22nd, part of a three game stretch where he averaged 24 points per game. 
"Chima Moneke was one of the best-kept secrets in college basketball this season," said CollegeInsider.com's Angela Lento. "He helped UC Davis do something it had never done before -- go to the NCAA Tournament. Moneke is a terrific player and a great kid."
Moneke also led the Big West Conference in defensive rebounding percentage, snagging 29.1 percent of available missed shots when he was on the floor

The Wallace award is presented annually to the top transfer in division I college basketball. During his coaching career at Hawaii; Wallace welcome many transfers into the program, which helped him to become the winningest coach in Hawaii history.

Wallace guided Hawaii to nine postseason appearances, including a school-record streak of four straight from 2001-04. The Warriors appeared in the NCAA Tournament three times under Wallace and have been invited to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) on six occasions. Prior to his arrival, the program had just one NCAA appearance and two trips to the NIT.

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.